UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, 19 September 2011, 4:30, Faculty Club

<u>Present:</u> Kevin Wilson (President), Jim Blackburn (Past President), Barry Brown, Yvonne Brown, Les Coleman, Dennis Dibski, Joyce Dibski, Bryan Harvey, Eileen Harvey, Michael Hayden, T. Y. Henderson, Mel Hosain, Dean Jones, Faye Kernan, Pat Lawson, Dale Miquelon (Vice President), Gwenna Moss, Brian Noonan, Donna Noonan, Jacqueline Owen, John Owen, Robert Sanche, Asit Sarkar, Duff Spafford (Treasurer), Nancy Senior, Michael Swan

1. Call to order and approval of agenda

Approval of agenda moved by Brian Harvey, seconded by Jim Blackburn. Carried.

2. In memoriam

At the request of President Kevin Wilson, the assembly observed a moment of silence in remembrance of members deceased during the past academic year.

3. Minutes of the AGM of 20 September 2010

Approval of the minutes moved by Michael Hayden, seconded by Michael Swan. Carried.

4. President's report

Kevin Wilson presented his written report to the assembly.

5. Executive committee reports

5.1 Treasurer

Duff Spafford explained the proposed increases in membership fees, and the Executive's intention to increase the annual rate of withdrawal of funds from lifetime fees from 5% to 8%. Moved by Duff Spafford, seconded by Dean Jones:

That USRA's annual membership fee be increased by \$5.00 to \$20.00, and the lifetime membership fee be increased by \$20.00 for each age category to conform to the table set out in the Treasurer's Report of September 19. 2011; the increases to take effect July 1, 2012.

Carried.

5.2 Office Services

Les Coleman presented the written report.

5.3 Membership

Les Coleman presented the written report.

5.4 In presenting the written report, Robert Sanche suggested that there should be three newsletters per year rather than three. He thanked Dean Jones for bringing and keeping the USRA website up to date.

5.5 Education, Social and Recreation Committee

The written report was presented by Jim Blackburn, who mentioned some speakers tentatively scheduled for the lunch series at Mano's restaurant: Peter Stoicheff, Dean of Arts and Sciences, in October; David Kaplan, of the Department of Music, in November; Peggy

Schmeiser, Director of Government Relations, in December; Peter MacKinnon, President, in April. A new offering of the driver program for people over 55 is planned.

5.6 Prime of Life Achievement Awards Committee

Eileen Harvey presented the report. Eight awards were to be presented at the dinner that evening.

5.7 Pictorial History

Faye Kernan presented the report. The committee will continue to exist, and in the future the website should contain a button for pictorial history.

5.8 CURAC

In presenting the report, Kevin Wilson encouraged members to watch the USRA website for information about the 11-20 April 2012 CURAC meeting in Victoria.

5.9 Honorary Doctorate Nomination Committee

Duff Spafford explained that this new standing committee was formed to assist in the campaign to encourage nominations for honorary doctorates.

5.10 Ad Hoc Committee on the Future of the Association

Michael Hayden reported that the committee was close to achieving the goals for which it was set up, and would soon cease to exist. He believed there would be some concrete results by November.

Moved Pat Lawson seconded Les Coleman that the sub-committee reports be accepted.

Carried.

6. By-law amendments

Moved by Jim Blackburn, seconded by Brian Harvey, that the following amendments be made:

a. (Modification of By-law 11.3 E.1)

that the following description be deleted from By-law 11.3 E.1:

This Committee shall make recommendations to the Executive to honour members of the Association who, after retirement, have made outstanding scholarly, artistic or service contributions. Such contributions should have been recognized by international, provincial or local bodies.

and that it be replaced by the following description:

This Committee shall make recommendations to the Executive in accordance with the "Procedures for the Prime of Life Achievement Awards".

b. (Addition of new By-law 11.3 F)

that By-law 11.3 F, with the following title and description, be added:

Title – *USRA Committee for Honorary Degrees Nominations*

Description – This committee shall assist the Office of the University Secretary in encouraging nominations of candidates for honorary degrees.

The motion was <u>carried</u> unanimously.

7. Nomination Committee report and election of Executive officers for 2011-2012 Jim Blackburn presented the report, which proposed a slate of officers.

President Dale Miquelon Vice-President Dean Jones

Secretary TBA Treasurer TBA

Members:

Kevin Wilson (Past President), Brian Harvey, Michael Hayden, Robert Sanche, Asit Sarkar, Duff Spafford, Michael Swan, Kurt Tischler

Past Presidents – active members of the Executive

Les Coleman, Faye Kernan, Murray Scharf, Jim Blackburn

Moved by Jim Blackburn, seconded by Brian Harvey, that the report of the Nomination Committee be accepted as circulated. <u>Carried</u>.

No additional nominations being received from the floor, the Executive Officers listed on the slate presented by the Nomination Committee were elected by acclamation.

Adjournment moved by Brian Harvey. Meeting adjourned.