UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, 24 September 2012, 4:30, Faculty Club

<u>Present:</u> Dale Miquelon (President), Kevin Wilson (Past President), Jim Blackburn, Barry Brown, Yvonne Brown, Les Coleman, John Courtney, Yvonne Cuttle, Dennis Dibski, Joyce Dibski, Bryan Harvey, Eileen Harvey, Gary Hanson, Michael Hayden, T. Y. Henderson, Mel Hosain, Dean Jones, Faye Kernan, Howard Klein, Betty Klein, Pat Lawson, Daryl Lindsay, Earle Newton, Jacqueline Owen, John Owen, Asit Sarkar, Murray Scharf, Duff Spafford (Treasurer), Michael Swan

1. Call to order and approval of agenda

Approval of agenda moved by Brian Harvey, seconded by Yvonne Cuttle. Carried.

2. Minutes of the September 19, 2011 Annual General Meeting

Approval of the minutes moved by Brian Harvey, seconded by John Courtney. **Carried**.

3. President's Remarks

President Dale explained that the two founding members of our Association. Jack Pringle and Art Sumner are being honoured by having their framed photographs mounted in the Retirees meeting room in the College Building. This would be announced at the banquet in the presence of six members of the Sumner family and two members of the Pringle family.

4. In memoriam

President Dale Miquelon, read a list of members deceased during the past academic year. The assembly observed a moment of silence in remembrance of these past members.

5. Executive committee reports

5.1 Treasurer

Duff Spafford reported that the 2011-12 year ended with a modest surplus of \$692.75. On the revenue side there was a modest increase in annual membership fees in part as a result of the change in annual fees from \$15.00 to \$20.00. In addition, the annual rate of withdrawal of funds from lifetime fees was raised from 5% to 8%. Expenditures were down because we did not send a representative to the annual CURAC Conference in 2012 and some economies were achieved in the production of the Newsletter. Once again, we thank the University for assuming the postage costs of mailing our Newsletter.

Moved Duff Spafford, seconded, Murray Scharf that the Treasurer's report be received. **Carried.**

5.2 Office Services

Les Coleman presented the written report.

5.3 Membership

Les Coleman presented the written report.

5.4 In presenting the written report, Robert Sanche suggested that there should be three newsletters per year rather than four. He thanked Dean Jones for preparing and keeping the USRA website up to date.

5.5 Education, Social and Recreation Committee

The written report was presented by Jim Blackburn, who mentioned that the tentatively luncheon series of speakers at Mano's restaurant would continue in the 2012-13 year. Announcements about speakers would be listed in the Newsletter and on the USRA website.

5.6 Prime of Life Achievement Awards Committee

Asit Sarkar prepared the written report. The following received awards: John Courtney, Brian Harvey, Lyle Sanderson and David Smith. Three of these will be granted at the banquet following the AGM, and the other will be presented at the 2013 banquet.

5.7 Pictorial History

Faye Kernan presented the report. Faye mentioned that there would be framed photographs of members who were granted honourary membership in the Association are being prepared for mounting in the Retirees Lounge.

5.8 CURAC

In presenting the report, Kevin Wilson that our USRA website contains information about the national organization of university retirees. Through our membership in the national body, our members can enjoy some reductions in magazine subscriptions.

5.9 Honorary Doctorate Nomination Committee

Michael Swan explained that this new standing committee was formed to encourage nominations for honorary doctorates. The committee's role is not to choose the awardees but assist in the identification of likely candidates and help prepare documentation.

5.10 Ad Hoc Committee on the Future of the Association

Michael Hayden reported that the committee was close to achieving the goals for which it was set up, and would soon cease to exist. He believed there would be some concrete results by November.

Moved Michael Hayden seconded Gary Hansen that the sub-committee reports be accepted. **Carried.**

6. Nomination Committee report and election of Executive officers for 2012-2013 Jim Blackburn presented the report, which proposed a slate of officers.

President Dale Miquelon Vice-President Dean Jones

Secretary TBA Treasurer TBA

Members:

Kevin Wilson (Past President), Brian Harvey, Michael Hayden, Asit Sarkar, Duff Spafford, Walt Pawlovich, Daryl Lindsay

Past Presidents – active members of the Executive

Les Coleman, Faye Kernan, Murray Scharf, Jim Blackburn

Moved by Jim Blackburn, seconded by Pat Lawson, that the report of the Nomination Committee be accepted as circulated. <u>Carried</u>.

No additional nominations being received from the floor, the Executive Officers listed on the slate presented by the Nomination Committee were elected by acclamation.

Adjournment moved by Brian Harvey. Meeting adjourned at 5.15 p.m.