UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, 23 September 2013, 4:30, Faculty Club

<u>Present</u>: Dale Miquelon (President), Dean Jones (Vice President), Kevin Wilson (Past President and Secretary), Michael Hayden (Treasurer), Jim Blackburn, Les Coleman, Bryan and Eileen Harvey, Mel Hosain, Faye Kernan, Pat Lawson, Jacqueline and John Owen, David Popkin, Asit Sakar, Nancy Senior, Ken Smith and Kurt Tischler.

1.Call to order and approval of agenda

Approval of agenda moved by Bryan Harvey seconded by Les Coleman. Carried

2. <u>Minutes of the September 24, 2012 Annual General Meeting</u> Approval of the Minutes moved by Bryan Harvey seconded by Jim Blackburn. <u>Carried</u>

3. President's Remarks

Dale Miquelon said he wanted to comment on two things. First, membership in the USRA is still a major concern. Despite that, the speaker series held at Mano's Restaurant continue to attract good numbers and our two social events—the Spring BBQ and the Fall Banquet are well attended. Our association was invited to the retirees' banquet held in the spring. Kurt Tischler and I manned a table and provided handouts to new retirees. We were able to write an insert in the banquet program reminding the retirees of free membership in the USRA for the first year of their retirement. Second, I am afraid that Duff Spafford had to retire from the Executive and the Treasurer's position because of ill health. Duff has given excellent service to the USRA Executive. Some of you may not know that our Retirees' Lounge houses a bookcase of books written by alumni of the University. Duff assembled this collection, and recently he completed an index of the collection. Our Awards Committee recommended that we name a special award in his name. Asit will say more about that when he makes his report.

4. Treasurer's Report

Michael Hayden reported that compared with the immediately preceding years there were only minor changes in the financial situation of the USRA. The 2012-13 year ended with a small surplus of \$336.84, compared with a surplus of \$692.75 in 2011-12 and a deficit of \$595.61 in 2010-2011. In the past year, less was taken in from membership fees, interest and barbeque revenue. More was spent, especially on the banquet, Founders' Recognition and leaflet printing. At present the organization's finances are in a healthy state. The balance sheet shows investments amounting \$20,520.49 and total assets of \$23,352.56. However, several facts must be recognized. Our investment fund is created by life membership fees and is the primary source of our operating income. A large number of members have bought a life membership. Interest paid on our investments is very low. Currently 8% of our investment funds are spent each year. Therefore, care must be taken to attract new members or, eventually, our resources will be drained. We once again thank the President's Office for assuming the postage costs of mailing our newsletter.

Moved Michael Hayden, seconded Ken Smith that the Treasurer's Report be received. <u>Carried</u>

5. Membership Report

Les Coleman said that the membership increased by 10 this year and that 90% of the total memberships are paid up life members. Although we give one year of free membership to new retirees, we have no access to names and addresses for follow up. This year, as you have heard, Dale and Kurt were present at the retirees' banquet to make retirees more aware of the USRA.

6. Communications and Pictorial History

The Communications Committee consisted of Dean Jones, chair, Faye Kernan and Dale Miquelon. The Executive added the responsibilities of the Pictorial History Committee to this committee. This year, three newsletters were produced. Engaging a student to do the formatting, printing and mailing of the first newsletter proved to be too costly an approach so executive member time was used for the last two. A new design was developed for the third one. The proportion of paper vs electronic copies remained the same as no directed effort was made to get members to switch from paper to electronic versions. New members tend to choose the electronic version. No further progress was made on putting USRA history onto the web site where it would be more available to members. The web site remained the key medium for providing up-to-date information about the USRA and its activities. A number of links have been added to other sites that may be of interest to USRA members.

7. Education, Social and Recreation

Bryan Harvey reported that the speakers' program this year was very successful. All sessions were very well attended. Next year, the committee hopes to introduce again several education programs. Previous workshops on computers and photography were well received and may be of interest again. Some may be interested in getting a speaker on privacy issues. Suggestions for good speakers are welcome.

8. Awards

The Awards Committee is Asit Sakar, chair, Bryan Harvey and Walt Pawlovich. Asit reported on the special award given to Duff Spafford at a gathering in the Retirees Lounge on August 2nd, 2013. The award is named "The USRA Duff Spafford Award for Exceptional Service to the University". John Courtney read the citation for Duff's Award and Asit presented Duff with the certificate. Detailed information about this event is contained in the September USRA Newsletter. Asit announced that Four Prime of Life Achievement Awards would be presented at the Banquet. The recipients are Madan Gupta (Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering); Ali Rajput (Division of Neurology, College of Medicine); Brian Rossnagel (Department of Plant Sciences, College of Agriculture and Bioresources) and Murray Scharf (Department of Educational Administration, College of Education).

Moved by Les Coleman, seconded by Eileen Harvey that the committee reports be approved. **Carried**.

9. Nominations Committee and election of Executive officers for 2013-14

Dale Miquelon presented the report that proposed a slate of officers.

PresidentDean JonesVice PresidentTBATreasurerKen SmithSecretaryKevin Wilson

Moved by Bryan Harvey, seconded by Mel Hosain that the report of the Nominations Committee be accepted. <u>Carried.</u>

No additional nominations being received from the floor, the Executive officers listed on the slate were elected by acclamation.

Other members of the 2013-14 Executive are Michael Hayden, Bryan Harvey, Asit Sarkar, and Walt Pawlovich. Past Presidents who are active members of the Executive are Les Coleman, Jim Blackburn and Faye Kernan.

Adjournment moved by Mel Hosain/Bryan Harvey at 5:25 p.m.