UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, September 22nd 2014, 4:30, Faculty Club 4:30 p.m.

<u>Present</u>: Dean Jones (President), Bryan Harvey (Vice-President). Kevin Wilson (Secretary), Ken Smith (Treasurer), Michael Hayden, Walt Pawlovich, Gail Lang, Faye Kernan, Les Coleman, Jim Blackburn, Pat Lawson, Eileen Harvey, Dennis and Joyce Dibski, Ted and Marie Hammer, Peter Purdue, John Courtney, Tom Wilson, Joan Sawatzky Murray Scharf, Toliver and Judith Henderson, John and Jacqueline Owen, Mel Hosain, and Len Proctor.

1. Call to order and approval of agenda.

Dennis Dibski, seconded by Murray Scharf, moved approval of the agenda. Carried

2. <u>Minutes of the September 23 September 2013 Annual General Meeting.</u>
Murray Scharf, seconded by Jim Blackburn, moved approval of the Minutes. <u>Carried</u>

3. President's Remarks

Dean Jones reported that, early in the Spring, the Executive forwarded a letter to the Board of Governors that commented on the importance of tenure and questioned the Board's decision to devolve tenure approval to the office of the President. In addition, the letter pointed out that the USRA Executive decried the manner in which many of the support people were summarily dismissed and asked to clear the campus immediately. The Executive urged the Board of Governors to have this treatment of employees stopped.

The office of the President has agreed to support the costs of sending a member of the Executive to the annual CURAC conference.

We are invited to have a member of the Executive attend each of the Spring and Fall Convocations and we have done this for the last two years.

Several members of the Executive are invited to the Retirees' dinner. We set up a table and pass out information about the USRA. We are also permitted to include written material in the package retirees are given.

Surviving spouses are retained on our mailing list and are welcomed as members to all our functions.

We have an agreement with the office of the President that groups from the central administration may use our Retirees' Lounge for meetings.

In conclusion, Dean thanked members of the Executive for their support and assistance. Ken Smith, seconded by Bryan Harvey, moved approval of the President's report. **Carried**

4. Question arising

John Courtney asked if there was an arrangement for booking the Retirees' Lounge. In response, Dean and Bryan said that nothing was in place and that Retirees were free to use the lounge during office hours. [It was subsequently determined that Lesley Leonhardt, in the University Secretary's office, is managing the scheduling of the lounge. She can be reached at lesley.leonhardt@usask.ca or Ph. 306-966-4632]

5, Treasurer's Report

Ken Smith presented his report and highlighted the following: revenues from members' fees and interest will remain at about \$1800 per year; about \$800 is spent annually on postage, but we are very grateful to the Office of the President for reimbursement of these funds; our costs include national membership fees in CURAC, printing, office supply costs, and expenses associated with

various recognitions including the Prime of Life Awards; investments and our cash account are our two largest assets and since the Association does not generate much cash during the year, a beginning cash balance of about \$7,500 is required to avoid paying bank charges and to cover our annual cash expenditures.

Ken Smith, seconded by Bryan Harvey, moved the Treasurer's Report be received. **Carried** Ken Smith, seconded by Michael Hayden moved there not be an audit of the books. **Carried**

6 Committee Reports

- (a) Awards: President Dean Jones announced that six Prime of Life Achievement Awards would be given to Robert Besant, Jim Blackburn, Don Cochrane, Zoltan Hajnal, Kailash Prasad and George Sofko. The 2014 Special Award Recipient, Yvonne Cuttle, would receive an Honorary Life Membership in the USRA.
- (b) <u>CURAC</u>: As noted above, our involvement in CURAC will improve markedly because the Office of the President will support the travel of a member of the Executive to the annual CURAC conference.
- (c) <u>Communication</u>: President Dean Jones reported that three Newsletters were produced in the past year. He reminded members that the USRA website contains copies of newsletters, scheduled activities and links to CURAC publications. If anyone is interested in taking over the preparation of the newsletters, they should contact a member of the Executive.
- (d) <u>Social and Educational:</u> The mandate of this committee is to organize social and educational events for the membership. Bryan Harvey reminded members that the next luncheon speaker would be interim President, Gordon Barnhardt. The luncheon will begin at noon and the talk will begin at 12:50 pm. He will speak on "The State of Affairs at the University of Saskatchewan". The committee arranged the Awards banquet attended by 70 people and another successful event, the summer BBQ. We hope to arrange a workshop on social networks some time in November.
- (e) <u>Membership:</u> Walt Pawlovich reported that the current membership total is 295 and that 247 are paid up life members. Encouraging new retirees to join continues to be a struggle. Information about becoming a member and a downloadable application are available on our website.
- (f) <u>Honorary Doctorate</u>: Bryan Harvey explained the mandate of the Committee is to seek nominees for honorary degrees and to facilitate their nominations. This involves collecting suggestions from the committee and other members and then agreeing on which to proceed with as a committee. Committee members are assigned the task of preparing a nomination for one of the nominations. The committee vets the nominations and forwards the completed nomination to the University Secretary. The Senate makes the final decision about the awarding of honorary doctorates from recommendations by the Senate's Honorary Degree Committee.

Ken Smith, seconded by Walt Pawlovich, moved approval of the Committee Reports. Carried

7. <u>Election of Officers</u>: President Dean Jones presented the slate of officers for the forthcoming year: President—Bryan Harvey, Vice President—Asit Sarkar, Treasurer—Ken Smith, Secretary—Dean Jones.

Mel Hosain, seconded by Michael Hayden, moved approval of the slate of officers. Carried

There being no other business, Mel Hosain, seconded by Walt Pawlovich, moved adjournment.

Carried