# UNIVERSITY OF SASKATCHEWAN RETIREES ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, September 28th 2015, 4:30 PM, University Club, U of S.

<u>Present</u>: Bryan Harvey (President). Asit Sarkar (Vice-President), Dean Jones (Secretary), Gail Laing, Joan Sawatsky, Tom Wilson, Murray Scharf, E. J. (Ted) Llewellyn, Jacqueline Huck, Merry Beazely, Chuck Rhodes, John Courtney, Tony Whitworth, Walt Pawlovich, Don McEwen, Judith Henderson, Michael Hayden, Dale Miquelon, Pat Lawson, Jim Blackburn, Mel Hosain, U. Theodore Hammer

### 1. Call to order and approval of agenda.

Murray Scharf, seconded by Ted Llewellyn, moved approval of the agenda. Carried

## 2. Minutes of the September 22, 2014 Annual General Meeting.

Michael Hayden, seconded by Tom Wilson, moved approval of the Minutes. Carried

#### 3. President's Remarks

Bryan Harvey asked the meeting to observe a minute of silence remembering our former members who died during the past year.

Bryan Harvey thanked the past year's executive for their work.

The USRA Board submitted suggestions for abilities that the new president of the University had to have: he/she must understand and support academic freedom, he/she must be able to provide leadership within a collegial form of governance, he/she must appreciate the complexity of the University of Saskatchewan, and he/she must appreciate the relationship between the University and the people of Saskatchewan.

We have proposed to CURAC, and the CURAC Board has agreed, that we host the 2016 CURAC conference. A committee has been formed, dates have been set—May 25-27, 2016—, a theme has been developed—"Past, Present and Future of the 'University': 'Idea of the University' (Neuman Model) to the Research University (Humboldtian Model) to the Corporate University (General Bull Moose Model) to ??. University, whither goest thou?"—and rooms have been identified for the sessions. We expect 55-60 attendees; 75 attended the 2014 conference, but it was held in Ontario where there are many universities close to the conference site at Queen's.

#### 4. Treasurer's Report

Ken Smith could not attend the meeting so the report was presented by Asit Sarkar.

As all our operating funds come from member fees, we are endeavouring to get members who pay yearly to purchase lifetime memberships.

The CURAC conference fee will be set so that we will not lose any money. Any money we make is split 50-50 between us and CURAC.

John Courtney, seconded by Chuck Rhodes, moved the Treasurer's Report be received. <u>Carried</u> Murray Scharf, seconded by Tony Whitworth moved there not be an audit of the books. <u>Carried</u>

#### 6 Committee Reports

(a) Awards: Walt Pawlovich reported that Prime of Life Achievement Awards will be

- awarded to Richard Burton, Dennis Gorecki and Faye Kernan and Honorary Life Memberships will be awarded to Jim Blackburn and Murray Scharf. He reported that the committee is developing terms of reference for another award recognizing scholarship after retirement. The committee has not promoted the Duff Spafford Award; John Courtney is ready to nominate someone for it.
- (b) <u>CURAC</u>: Bryan Harvey was scheduled to go to the CURAC 2014 conference, but was unable to do so because of a family emergency. No one else was able to attend on short notice. Bryan did sit in on two Board meetings, mostly to understand our commitment if we undertook to host a conference and then to present our proposal.
- (c) Communication:
- (d) <u>Social and Educational:</u> The mandate of this committee is to organize social and educational events for the membership. Asit reported that the chancellor has committed to speak to us on October 16. Peter Stpichecff will be asked to speak once he has settled into his position.
- (e) <u>Membership:</u> Judith Henderson reported that we have 286 members, 238 of which are life members, 252 of which have paid. Bryan Harvey noted that privacy legislation makes it is difficult to get contact information for new retirees and that Judith had spent a lot of time on the telephone contacting people.
- (f) <u>Nominations</u>: Dean Jones reported that the committee identified an excellent candidate for secretary, but was unable to find a candidate for vice president due to a small Board and caregiver requirements. It will be filled per the mechanism provided in the constitution. Two additional members were identified for standing committees.
- (g) <u>Retiree Engagement</u>: Michael Hayden reported that this work has been put on hold until the new administration has settled.
- (h) <u>Honorary Doctorate:</u> Bryan Harvey explained the mandate of the Committee is to seek nominees for honorary degrees and to facilitate their nominations. The committee has not been active this past year, but has some nominations that it is working on. Anyone who knows someone who is deserving should forward a nomination to the committee, which will do the work to prepare the nomination for the University.

Ted Llewellyn, seconded by Tony Whitworth, moved approval of the Committee Reports. **Carried** 

7. <u>Election of Officers</u>: Nominations Committee chair Dean Jones presented the slate of officers for the forthcoming year: President—Asit Sarkar, Vice President—no candidate, Treasurer—Ken Smith, Secretary—Gail Laing.

Jim Blackburn, seconded by Ted Llewellyn, moved approval of the slate of officers. Carried

There being no other business, Mel Hosain, moved adjournment.

**Carried**